GRPs, TRPs, CPM Problems
Quiz #3
One of the quirks in the media world is the correct usage of GRPs (gross rating points) and TRPs (target rating points). There is a technical difference between the two terms. However, in my experience, GRPs is overwhelmingly the term used to describe all rating points, and I have followed that convention in these problems.
Practice problem
3A:
As a planner, I identify three cable programs that I’d
like to buy to reach my target audience of W35+
Contemporary Family, W35+ rating of 1.2
Saw and Disorder, W35+ rating of 0.7
Acquaintances, W35+ rating of 0.4
If I were to buy five ads in Contemporary Family, three ads in
Saw and Disorder, and six ads in Acquaintances, how many total GRPs vs. W35+ would that
represent?
Practice problem 3B:
In Olympics City, I decide that WXB-AM is the best radio
station for my plan. The station is offering
me a package of 25 spots during their morning program every week for four
weeks. WXB-AM morning programming
averages a 2.7 rating against Adults 2554.
How many GRPs per week would this schedule generate, and how many GRPs
would the four week schedule generate?
Practice problem 3C:
In Steel City, I run a radio campaign on several
stations, targeting M1824. My total
schedule delivers 250 GRPs. The universe
of M1824 in Steel City is 158,700.
How
many M1824 impressions did this schedule generate?
Practice problem
3D:
We decide to run a national campaign on the Zoo Animals network targeting
W1849, and that campaign will generate 345,890,000 impressions against
W1849.
The national universe of W1849 is
60,590,000. How many GRPs would the
campaign deliver?
Practice problem
3E:
For the Steel City radio campaign above, the total
cost of the campaign is $4,500, gross.
What is the M1824 CPM?
Setup and Solutions
Note that the overall formula for CPM is Cost divided by Audience (in thousands).
In all the problems below, the audience has already been divided by 1,000.
For instance, in Problem 1A, 43,895 divided by 1,000 = 43.895
Practice Problem 3A
Solution:
Contemporary Family: 5 ads X 1.2 rating = 6.0 GRPs
Saw and Disorder: 3 ads x 0.7 rating = 2.1 GRPs
Acquaintances: 6 ads x 0.4 rating = 2.4 GRPs
6.0 + 2.1 + 2.4 = 10.5 W35+ GRPs
Practice Problem 3B
Solution:
One week – 25 spots X 2.7 rating = 67.5 GRPs
Four weeks 67.5
GRPs x 4 weeks = 270.0 A2554 GRPS
Practice Problem 3C
Solution:
The trick here is to remember that GRPs are a
percentage. When you multiply a number
by a percentage you convert it to a decimal point. 75 GRPs = 75% which becomes .75 when you use
it in an equation.
When you have a GRP/percentage that is 100 or greater,
then it looks like this when you use it in an equation: 250 GRPs = 250% becomes
2.50 in the equation
So for this problem the answer is:
158,700 X 2.50 = 396,750 M1824 impressions
Practice Problem 3D
Solution:
When you have impressions and a universe, you divide
impressions by universe x 100 to get the GRPs
In this case, you would divide 345,890,000 by 60,590,000
x 100 = 570.9 GRPs
REMEMBER, this is not a cost per thousand problem, so you don’t do anything to the bottom number.
REMEMBER, this is not a cost per thousand problem, so you don’t do anything to the bottom number.
Practice Problem E3
Solution:
$4,500 divided by 396.750 (note what I did with the
decimal) = $11.34